Seasonal Effects

I’m one of those people who can be drawn into a movie just by a certain song.  You know, the kind of song that helps you understand a character’s emotions or helps you remember what it was like to be “coming-of-age” (whatever that means to you)?  Well, for some reason, fall makes me feel like I’m living in my own indie movie and that I need a soundtrack of my own to get me through the rest of the year.  Now I know I’m making fall sound like a really depressing season, but that’s not what I mean to say (now winter on the other hand…that’s a depressing season).  In a way, I feel like this time of year marks the start of new things:  new school year, new TV shows, new wardrobe, etc.  With this “newness,” however, comes the idea that I’m leaving old things behind.  So, I think, that in a way, songs from previous falls (the season, not my episodes of clumsiness) help me to remember the times that have passed and help me to remain hopeful for the future.

To me, fashion, like music, can be an expression of ourselves and our moods.  And on an overcast, autumn day, I can’t help but feel like I need to wear something that represents these feelings of nostalgia.

This outfit makes me think of the times I went to school in the fall because, interestingly enough, I wore this skirt when I was in high school!  Actually, the skirt really belonged to my sister, but we borrowed each other’s clothes all the time (and lo and behold, it eventually found a permanent spot in my dresser drawer).  The plaid shirt is one of the many pieces of clothing that I’ve gotten from my mom.  The shirt is probably from the ’70s or early ’80s but it’s still in good condition.

I think both the shirt and the skirt are still fashionable because they’re classic in style.  The belt (also “donated” by my mom at my request), although old, helps to bring the whole outfit together.  Actually, the newest part of my outfit are my shoes.  I love pairing new and old clothes together because of the unique ensembles that can be created.  So, fashion, and the future, offer us limitless possibilities–now doesn’t that just make you want to make your own mixtape (or whatever the young kids are doing these days)?

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Top:  Sears JR Bazaar/vintage

Skirt:  Unionbay/Army Base Exchange

Belt:  vintage

Shoes:  Mossimo Supply Co./Target

Bracelet:  gift

Earrings:  gift



Leave a comment