Appropriately Dressed

Around the age of eight, I stopped wearing dresses except for Christmas and Easter. After that, it was mainly shorts, jeans, and the occasional skirt and blouse. For a long time, a dress to me was something you wore for a special occasion. As a teenager, I would only go dress shopping for a school dance, a wedding, or a graduation. To wear a dress outside of these contexts was a rare or nonexistent occurrence.


As I got older, I began to see dresses, especially the casual ones that are made from cotton or a cotton blend, as versatile pieces. You can layer over or under them; wear them with or without some kind of legwear. I welcome wearing dresses for any event now (as long as I don’t have to do jumping jacks or lunges).

I actually wanted to wear this blouse as a shirt dress because it was big and loose. Unfortunately, it has two slits up the sides that would be devastatingly inappropriate should I choose to sit or walk with long strides. So, I took my next best option and decided to wear the blouse but under a sweater dress (or at least a long sweater-type top that I decided to wear as a dress).

I like how the colors of the blouse liven up a rather bland combination of gray and black. I added colorful, gold jewelry to the mix and a pair of black boots and–ta da!–I had an outfit that was ready for partying during the day and partying at night. Okay, I didn’t really party during the day or night hours, but I was able to comfortably walk around the city and attend an intimate concert all in an eight-hour period. No party, but I still had fun–that counts for something, right?

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Blouse: Liz Claiborne/donated

Sweater: Derek Heart/Marshalls

Boots: vintage

Necklaces: loaned

Bracelets: vintage

Sunglasses: Franco Sarto/Marshalls

Leave a Reply

