Imagine the Possibilities

I had the opportunity to spend the weekend with some family in NYC.  My husband, Chris, and I go up a few times a year since he is a native New Yorker.  I find that each time we go there, we discover new and exciting things.  I like to observe the local trends while I’m there and just soak up the arts and culture vibe.

Chris was definitely inspired when we were up there.  If he saw a striking background, he would whip out his camera and ask me to pose in front of it.  We probably took more pictures for the blog that day than we have before.  There is just such a cool, urban feel in New York, and Chris is just a cool, urban kind of guy.


We ended up having to bring a suitcase full of clothing (I think I took up three-quarters of the suitcase) because I didn’t know what I was going to wear once we got there.  If the wind blew one way, I would be inspired to wear a certain outfit; if the wind blew another way, I would be inspired to wear a completely different outfit.  My fickle nature made me spend a little bit more time packing (because I had to pack accessories and shoes that I thought I might wear), but surprisingly, the ideas for the possible outfits came to me relatively easily.  I think I will streamline my packing in the future, but for this trip, I packed at least four different outfits for a day-and-a-half-long trip (meaning I really only needed two outfits at most–or two pairs of clean underwear at least, however you want to phrase it).  Luckily, Chris is a light packer and is laid-back when it comes to my desire to have outfit options.

Actually, it came in handy to have a variety of clothes.  When an outfit that seemed good in my head, didn’t work in reality (don’t you just hate when that happens?), I was able to rework it.  See, I really wanted to wear these wild leggings I bought last week, and I really wanted to wear them with my blue sweater (I know–sometimes I have problems compromising when it comes to what I will wear).  The skirt I brought was obscenely short when I tried it on, so the black dress I decided to bring at the last minute was the perfect fallback.  The jacket and the scarf were worn because I knew it would be chilly in the evening, so it helped that they matched my outfit (by the way, for my loyal readers, this was the scarf that I ended up wearing with my outfit in ‘Hint of Red‘–I will wear things that aren’t intended to be a part of my outfit because I can’t stand being cold, so it’s a plus if it matches somewhat).

In the end, I hope the outfit that I chose, helped to capture the awesome vibe of the city.  We really enjoyed the time we spent with family, and we had fun exploring areas and places that we hadn’t been to before.  I can’t wait to go back–next time, I’ll try to pack a lighter suitcase.

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Dress:  Poetry Clothing/Marshalls

Sweater:  American Eagle Outfitters/Marshalls

Jacket:  Me Jane/Ross

Scarf:  Mossimo Supply Co./Target

Leggings:  Xhilaration/Target

Socks:  Hanes/Target

Shoes:   Stride Rite/vintage

Purse:  Olivia + Joy/Marshalls

Earrings:  donated

Sunglasses:  Franco Sarto/Marshalls

Leave a Reply

