Family Ties

I actually had a very different outfit in mind, but I’m glad I ended up wearing this.  For some reason, I was compelled to wear this shirt with a tie.  I also envisioned myself wearing a cute, short skirt and a pair of black tights and platform heels as well, but then I thought, “this would have made a better outfit for Halloween!”  The more I thought about it (and yes, I unfortunately do think quite a lot about what I wear), the more I realized that the whole ensemble was either too costumey or too youthful for me to pull off.  I’m glad I stuck with the platform heels though.  I was easily able to wear these jeans without folding them at the cuff (which I normally do, although I’m sure I get a lot of weird stares), plus it made me about 4 inches taller (note:  I normally like to wear flats or heels no higher than 3 inches, but every once in a while, I indulge).

I had to ask Chris to help me with the tie (more like he noticed that I stole his tie from his side of the closet, and he saw me with a really haphazard knot around my neck–I’m sure he even realized that ties were meant to be worn a certain way–so he quickly offered to show me how to tie a tie).  My knot ended up pretty crooked, but I was hoping that would be part of the appeal.  The funny thing is I actually bought this tie for him as well as a dress shirt that looks suspiciously similar to the shirt I’m wearing here (except I have three-quarter length sleeves).  I guess when I go shopping for other people, I’m secretly hoping I can steal their look for myself (yes, this makes me a horrible person).

I wore this snazzy outfit for lunch with a former co-worker and then for an evening hanging out at my parents’ house.  So, hats off to my dad for filling in as my photographer!  Fortunately, he didn’t protest when I asked him with puppy dog eyes to take pictures for my blog.  But, let’s just say this was also not the longest photo shoot either.  All in all, I can’t complain–my outfit was captured for posterity, and I was able to make my first public appearance wearing a tie!  Next up–suspenders?

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Button-down shirt:  twenty one/vintage shop

Tank top:  Ellen Tracy/Marshalls

Tie:  J. Crew/J. Crew Factory

Jeans:  ZCO Jeans/Marshalls

Shoes:  Esprit/donated (I will have to get a good picture of them so you can see my high heel limit)

Leave a Reply

