The Fun Never Ends

I still enjoy wearing tops with cartoon characters on it.  Granted, these types of shirts are not in my regular rotation of wardrobe choices, but when they’re worn, they’re worn with pride.  The blogger, Chic Muse, has a great take on combining a cute cartoon with a cute pair of heels (I also like how a blazer imparts a level of sophistication).

This is my version of an outfit that has younger and more mature elements.  I bought this hoodie about four or five years ago when I was still in my early twenties.  I think the whales and sailboats provide a cutesy spin on a nautical theme.  The colors suggest playfulness and vivaciousness; a perfect match for a quiet, Sunday early dinner (note:  this is a sign that you’re getting older; when you eat dinner at 4:30 pm).

I balanced out the cuteness with a paisley-printed blouse and a pair of corduroy cargo pants.  My pink boots and jewelry rounded out the ensemble.  I specifically chose the beaded jewelry for the coloring as well as to help transition to an older look (in my opinion, beaded jewelry, for the most part, can be worn at any age and with almost any outfit).

So, the lesson of the day is:  find a way to incorporate fun designs into your look.  And remember–you’re never too young to eat an early dinner.

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Hooded sweatshirt:  Sweet Child/Marshalls

Blouse:  JW/donated

Pants:  Terranova/Terranova (store in SoHo)

Boots:  Mossimo Supply Co./Target

Necklace:  Target/loaned

Bracelets:  Macy’s/loaned

Leave a Reply

