Getting Ready

I was ready to go out to dinner and a party with this outfit.  But, unfortunately, as the sun went down, the air got colder, and I realized that boots were the way to go instead of the pretty party shoes that I wore for the pictures.  I do like the dainty quality of the metallic heels, but when you’re walking around in the city, comfort is paramount (I ended up wearing my black suede boots from I Love the ’90s).  Nevertheless, I was happily able to stick with my Heathers‘ inspired animal-print blazer and dress it up with flashy jewelry.

I’ve been wanting to wear this blazer for awhile now.  As the temperatures started to drop, I realized that my only chance to wear this outfit this year was this weekend (sorry for the ‘this’ overkill).  If it had been a little bit warmer, I would have worn a cotton slip-like dress underneath the blazer.  However, since it was on the chillier side, I chose to layer a ruched, cotton top over a satiny slip-inspired dress instead.  I like to mix prints as well as materials, but I preferred the way the satin material matched the smooth texture of the blazer.

I’m excited for the upcoming holidays, but I’m not quite ready.  I used my quirky style to buy gifts for a White Elephant gift exchange this weekend (we’ll see how that plays out).  I still have a few gifts to buy (I know, I’m your typical last-minute shopper), but then I should be good to go.  I’m hoping to be a little bit more original with some of my gifts this year.  But I think that might be code for ‘unique things that I would want for myself?’

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Blazer:  Liz Claiborne/vintage

Top:  Max Studio/Marshalls

Dress:  Xhilaration/Target

Tights:  Calvin Klein/Marshalls

Shoes:  Isaac Mizrahi for Target/Target

Necklaces:  Alfani (x2)/loaned

Earrings:  gift 

Leave a Reply

