Forget Winter

I had to think carefully when I picked out an outfit that was appropriate for the mild, or dare I say, warmer, temperatures on Saturday (I must have also been subconsciously trying to reproduce this fun outfit–our blazers are very similar!).  I decided to combine a long, flowy skirt with a pair of black boots that finally debuted on this blog (the last of many black boots I’ve worn so far), because I needed to convince myself that it was still winter.  I brought along a light jacket, but I was able to get by with just my blazer for most of the day.

Every winter, I forget a few important things.  For one thing, I forget how dry my skin gets.  When it gets really frigid, my hands are beyond chapped.  It also doesn’t help that I’m washing my hands throughout the day.  I’m sure my best option would be to moisturize more often and wear gloves after using a thick cream at night.  Of course, I don’t do this.  Secondly, I forget how static-y my hair gets.  My “flyaways” become “stick-to-my foreheads.”  Sometimes, wind can help volumize your hair; in the winter, it shakes my hair into a limp state.  It’s the unfortunate truth.

Either way, it was nice to spend the majority of the day outside of our apartment.  I did some winter hat shopping (more on that in another post), plus we found a nice coffeehouse where we could sit back and relax (for about a good hour before closing).  To me, this is the best way to spend the weekend.  Now if only the warmer weather could stick around for just a little bit longer…

P.S.  A special thank you to the iPhone–without it, these pictures would not be possible.

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Blazer:  Merona/Goodwill

Tank top:  Ellen Tracy/Marshalls

Skirt:  Chelsea Ltd./vintage

Boots:  Franco Sarto/DSW

Purse:  Franco Sarto/Marshalls

Necklace:  boutique shop in Paris

Bracelet:  gift

Leave a Reply

