Going With It

I. Can’t.  Stop.  Dressing.  Funky.  Okay, I CAN actually stop, but I seem to be in such a funkalicious mood that I can’t help but want to dress with wild abandonment (note:  I’m not supposed to use the word “can’t”; a co-worker told me that I have to take that word out of my vocabulary–I’m working on it).

I wanted to style my outfit based off a jacket that I bought at a vintage store months ago, but was only just recently dry cleaned (note:  it still carries that “vintage” smell–I suppose the smell is just so strong or it wasn’t properly cleaned–methinks I don’t want to know the truth).  The jacket inspired a “must-stay-warm-yet-appear-mature” look.  I felt all prim and proper with a turtleneck sweater and a jumper that, when cinched with the right belt, made me feel conservatively commanding.  I also doubled up on tights and leggings because I was afraid my legs would get cold.  I pulled out my wacky leggings, decided they were possibly too crazy to wear with the rest of the outfit but was told by Chris to “just go with it.”  Actually, I’m not sure if that was his exact quote, or if it was just a paraphrase of what he said, and I faultily remembered it because I was thinking of a Jennifer Aniston movie; either way, I took what Chris said, and decided to leave the leggings on.  I figured my legs would thank me later.

I had planned on just wearing my polka-dotted jacket as my extra layer, but I realized that it was going to be colder at night.  So I brought along my ruffled short coat just in case (note:  it did get colder at night, and it was a little chilly during the day–yay, for wearing multiple layers!).  It was comfortable when we were inside the museum and inside this atrium.  A quiet retreat from city life:

And now I will quietly retreat from my computer, so I CAN get ready for bed.  Goodnight and funky dreams!

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Dress:  Old Navy/Old Navy

Sweater:  So/Kohl’s

Leggings:  Xhilaration/Target

Jackets:  Polka dot:  Notations/vintage store; Ruffled:  Steve Madden/Marshalls

Boots:  vintage

Belt:  vintage

Purse:  Franco Sarto

Sunglasses:  Franco Sarto

Leave a Reply

