In Bloom

I was amazed at how warm it actually was on Saturday.  By the time Chris and I were out and walking for about an hour, I had to shed my light blazer because I was working up a sweat.

Chris and I had fun walking around the National Mall.  For the past few years, we’ve made it a point to take a walk near or around the Tidal Basin when the cherry blossoms are in bloom.  Since we were taking pictures for the blog, we reminisced about our fashion choices over the years, particularly as we toured the monuments.  It has only been in the last year or two that we’ve become more particular about the clothes we buy and wear.  I think our biggest fashion “don’ts” were wearing clothes that were too big (remember when baggy clothes were in?) or too small (okay, that’s more of my faux pas; I guess I was jumping on the belly-baring bandwagon).  Now, even though we know we don’t always make perfect sartorial choices, we enjoy creating looks that fit us better.

As far as fit goes, I realize my skirt is a bit on the short side.  I’m sure I inadvertently flashed groups of people throughout the day, but I did my very best to sit and stand up as modestly as possible (unfortunately, I think I was unsuccessful about half of the time).

Also, another fun fact:  most of my clothes were bought at the thrift store, or were given/donated to me.  When it comes to shopping, I get the most joy out of spending the least amount of money possible.  So, this outfit probably tops the list for best bargains.  I think the entire outfit, from head to toe was about $50 (I figure if I’m going to shop, I’m not going to overspend).  And bonus fact:  I ended up finding (what I believe is) an authentic vintage Coach purse at the thrift store last week.  I love the size and portability–it forces me not to carry too much (although I could have at least brought a pack of travel tissues for runny nose season).

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  Welcome, spring!

Outfit (Designer/Purchased from):

Hers:

Blazer:  Old Navy/thrift store

Top:  Mon Amie/Marshalls

Button-down shirt:  Liz Claiborne/vintage

Skirt:  H&M/thrift store

Shoes:  Ipanema/vintage

Necklace:  Richelieu/vintage store

Earrings:  Amuse’/gift

Sunglasses:  Steve Madden/Marshalls

His:

Button-down shirt:  H&M/H&M

Jeans:  Levi’s/Levi’s Outlet Store

Shoes:  Zoo York/store in Paris

Sunglasses:  Oakley/Sunglass Hut

Leave a Reply

